Following the passing of the Parliamentary Constituencies Act 2020 in December 2020, and the publication of the relevant Parliamentary electorate data in January 2021, the Boundary Commission (BC) began a new review of all Parliamentary constituencies in England. This is normally referred to as the ‘2023 Review’, as the BC are required to report their final recommendations by 1 July 2023.

Applying the statutory formula to the electorate figures means the total 650 constituencies is distributed during the review to the four parts of the UK as follows:

  • England = 543 (includes two ‘protected’ constituencies on the Isle of Wight);
  • Scotland = 57 (includes two ‘protected’ constituencies for specified Scottish islands);
  • Wales = 32 (includes one ‘protected’ constituency on the Isle of Anglesey); and
  • Northern Ireland = 18

This Commission has applied the same distribution formula to the English allocation, which results in the following redistribution of constituencies among the nine English regions for the 2023 Review:

  • East Midlands = 47 (increase of one)
  • Eastern = 61 (increase of three)
  • London = 75 (increase of two)
  • North East = 27 (decrease of two)
  • North West = 73 (decrease of two)
  • South East = 91 (increase of seven)
  • South West = 58 (increase of three)
  • West Midlands = 57 (decrease of two)
  • Yorkshire and the Humber = 54 (no change)

Application of further statutory rules to the published electorate also means that all recommended constituencies must have no less than 69,724 Parliamentary electors and no more than 77,062 (except those ‘protected’ constituencies mentioned above). By law, these electorate figures relate to the electorates as they were on 2 March 2020.

What happens next?

The final consultation on the BC revised proposals for new constituencies took place from 8 November to 5 December 2022. The Commission is now analysing all the responses received during this last consultation stage, and will decide whether to make any changes to the revised proposals. The BC will then provide their final report and recommendations to Parliament by 1 July 2023, it will then be for the Government to prepare an order to implement the new constituencies for the whole UK. This should be provided to the Privy Council for approval within four months of the Government receiving the last report of the four Parliamentary Boundary Commissions for the UK. The new constituencies will then take effect at the next general election thereafter.

The proposed boundaries for the Selby constituency and the proposed Wetherby and Easingwold constituencies are shown below:

A map of the Selby constituency
A map of the Selby constituency

Note the addition of the Kippax and Methley ward (map area 10) to the new Selby Constituency.

These proposals will also affect the northern part of the exisisting consituency in that the following wards will transfer to the the New Wetherby and Easingwold constituency (see following image and data below):

  • Appleton Roebuck and Church Fenton
  • Boroughbridge and Claro
  • Spofforth with Lower Wharfedale and Tockwith
  • Tadcaster
  • Washburn and Birstwith
A map of the Wetherby and Easingwold constituency
A map of the Wetherby and Easingwold constituency

For information the statistics below show the current ward makeup as of 2019 general election and the distribution of wards and electorate as proposed in the 2023 boundary reorganisation

Selby and Ainsty    
District Ward Electorate
North Yorkshire Appleton Roebuck and Church Fenton 4,722                    
North Yorkshire Barlby and Riccall 4,555                    
North Yorkshire Boroughbridge and Claro 566                    
North Yorkshire Brayton and Barlow 4,905                    
North Yorkshire Camblesforth and Carlton 4,723                    
North Yorkshire Cawood and Escrick 4,458                    
North Yorkshire Cliffe and North Duffield 4,401                    
North Yorkshire Monk Fryston and South Milford 6,775                    
North Yorkshire Osgoldcross 4,797                    
North Yorkshire Ouseburn 4,158                    
North Yorkshire Selby East 5,070                    
North Yorkshire Selby West 7,014                    
North Yorkshire Sherburn in Elmet 6,061                    
North Yorkshire Spofforth with Lower Wharfedale and Tockwith 4,725                    
North Yorkshire Tadcaster 5,935                    
North Yorkshire Thorpe Willoughby and Hambleton 4,732                    
North Yorkshire Washburn and Birstwith 800                    
  Total 78,397


Note the wards highlighted in bold are currently in the Selby and Ainsty constituency but if the proposed changes go through, they will transfer to the new Wetherby and Easingwold constituency.

Link to Instagram Link to Twitter Link to YouTube Link to Facebook Link to LinkedIn Link to Snapchat Close Fax Website Location Phone Email Calendar Building Search